Town of Enosburgh, Vermont

Town Clerk: (802)933-4421
Office Hours: Monday - Friday 8am - 3:30pm

Conservation Commission

 Jay Peak Sunset
Jay Peak Sunset (Cathy Emch)

In 1977, Vermont passed the enabling legislation (24 V.S.A. Chapter 118) to establish municipal conservation commissions. The major goal of a conservation commission is to establish community responsibility or stewardship for its natural and cultural resources. There are now 94 conservation commissions statewide. A commission is comprised of three to nine members who are appointed by the selectboard. Each commission tailors its projects to the specific needs and interests of its town. A conservation commission can assist the selectboard and planning commission with natural resource issues; make an inventory of the town's natural, historic, and cultural resources; receive gifts of land for conservation purposes; and encourage the public's understanding of local natural resources. A conservation commission empowers people to take responsibility for their town's natural and cultural resources.

The Enosburgh Conservation Commission (ECC) was established in 2000, when its first set of by-laws were approved by the Selectboard. This 6-member board is made up of community volunteers who serve for 2-year terms. The ECC meets at the Cold Hollow Career Center (upstairs) at 6:30 pm on the 4th Monday of each month. All meetings are open to the public.